Hall of Distinction

Through its Hall of Distinction, the Jackson School of Geosciences honors individuals with a strong affiliation to the school who have made high-level accomplishments in academia, industry or government. We salute their efforts to positively impact society.

Nominations are reviewed annually by a selection committee composed of the dean of the Jackson School (chairperson), the chairperson of the Advisory Council, and the unit heads of the Department of Earth and Planetary Sciences, the Bureau of Economic Geology, the Institute for Geophysics, and the Associate Director of the Geology Foundation. The deadline to submit a nomination is January 1 of each year. To nominate someone for the Hall of Distinction, fill out the nomination form and submit it to the Development Office of the Jackson School.

Nomination Form

Past Honorees

Milo Backus (2011) Virgil E. Barnes (2008) Laura Thomson Barrow (1972)
Leonidas T. Barrow (1972) Thomas D. Barrow (1985) John F. Bookout, Jr. (1985)
Don R. Boyd (1991) Robert E. Boyer (2001) J. Ben Carsey, Sr. (1980)
Stephen E. Clabaugh (1980) Morgan J. Davis (1977) L. Decker Dawson (2003)
Ronald K. DeFord (2011) Alva Ellisor (2018) W. Maurice “Doc” Ewing (2011)
William L. Fisher (2018) Peter T. Flawn (1993) Robert L. Folk (2008)
James A. Gibbs (2022) William E. Gipson (1991) David “Scotty” Holland (2013)
John A. Jackson (2001) Katherine A. “Katie” Jackson (2015) Martin P. A. Jackson (2019)
G. Moses Knebel (2014) Hedwig T. Kniker (2008) Lynton Land (2018)
J. Hoover Mackin (2017) Munib Masri (2015) Art Maxwell (2012)
John C. Maxwell (2013) Earle F. McBride (2014) Leonard F. McCollum (1985)
James R. Moffett (1992) Sharon Mosher (2023) William R. Muehlberger (2008)
Yosio Nakamura (2013) Judd H. Oualline (2016) O. Scott Petty (2016)
Elias Sellards (2012) Henryk B. Stenzel (2008) Paul L. Stoffa (2019)
Johan A. Udden (2011) Joseph C. Walter, Jr. (1985) Leslie P. White (2019)
Chuck Williamson (2013) James Lee Wilson (2012)