## Jackson School of Geosciences Hall of Distinction

- 1. Eligibility for election to the Jackson School Hall of Distinction is based on high-level accomplishment in some aspect of academia, industry or government as well as affiliation with the Jackson School. UT graduates, as well as non-graduate special friends of the Jackson School are eligible. Nominees may be living or deceased. Active members of the Jackson School are not eligible for election.
- 2. Nominations will be accepted from all persons with an interest and knowledge of the Jackson School. Nominations can be made by letter to the Dean of the Jackson School with accompanying description of the nominee's accomplishments and biographical data. Also include a copy of the nominee's CV. All nominations will be retained for a period of three years for ongoing consideration of the nominees during that time period.
- 3. The Selection Committee may elect no more than three persons for the Hall of Distinction in any one year.
- 4. Each year the honorees for induction into the Hall of Distinction will be recognized at a banquet to be held in conjunction with a Foundation Advisory Council meeting.

Nominees who have accomplished one or more of the following will be considered:

- Achieved distinguished contributions to the practice and profession of the geosciences or
- Managed an organization that has received national or international recognition for excellence in applying the principles and practices of the geosciences or
- Performed outstanding service to his or her community, the profession, and the public or
- Provided strong support for the Jackson School through participation in its activities, financial well-being, public recognition and development or
- Achieved distinction in teaching, research, or both in the geosciences or
- Recognized as a leader in the geosciences community and a role model for Jackson School students.

## **Nomination Requirements**

The nominee's CV and a letter of recommendation should be transmitted to the Selection Committee of the Jackson School. The Selection Committee will be composed of the Dean of the Jackson School (Chairman), the Chairman of the Advisory Council, and the unit heads of the Department of Geological Sciences, the Bureau of Economic Geology, the Institute for Geophysics and the Associate Director of the Geology Foundation. The deadline for nominations is January 1 each year. The Selection Committee will review the nominations and will elect no more than three individuals into the Hall of Distinction each year.

Selection Committee for the Hall of Distinction Jackson School of Geosciences 2305Speedway, C1160 Austin, TX 78712