Five Jackson School Students Receive NSF Graduate Fellowship

NSF logo
National Science Foundation logo

National Science Foundation (NSF) selected 35 students from The University of Texas at Austin for its prestigious Graduate Research Fellowships Program, giving UT Austin the 12th highest number of NSF graduate fellows in the country in 2015.


The NSF graduate fellowship program recognizes and supports outstanding graduate students in science, technology, engineering and mathematics who are pursuing research-based master’s degrees and doctorates at accredited institutions in the United States. Since the program’s inception in 1952, NSF has provided fellowships to individuals selected early in their graduate careers based on their academic achievements and potential for significant achievements in science and engineering.


The UT Austin fellowship recipients — 27 graduate students and eight undergraduates in the Cockrell School of Engineering, College of Liberal Arts, College of Natural Sciences and Jackson School of Geosciences — will receive three years of financial support within a five-year fellowship period for graduate study that leads to a research-based master’s or doctor’s degree in science or engineering. In addition to a $34,000 annual stipend, NSF will provide an annual $12,000 cost-of-education allowance to each recipient’s graduate school.


The 2015 class of graduate fellows comes from 456 baccalaureate institutions across the country. The NSF fellowship recipients from UT Austin and their schools are as follows:


Graduate Students


  • Luisa Aebersold, College of Liberal Arts
  • Alicia Allen, Cockrell School of Engineering
  • Douglas Edward Barber, Jackson School of Geosciences
  • Rachel Eleanor Bernard, Jackson School of Geosciences
  • Cheasequah Jolene Blevins, College of Natural Sciences
  • Michelle Elizabeth Dose, Cockrell School of Engineering
  • Edward James Evans, College of Natural Sciences
  • Sarah George, Jackson School of Geosciences
  • Adam Girard Gordon, College of Natural Sciences
  • Devon Paul Humphreys, College of Natural Sciences
  • Wiley Jennings, Cockrell School of Engineering
  • Laura Estelle Lindzey, Jackson School of Geosciences
  • Hannah Elizabeth Marti, College of Natural Sciences
  • Kimberly Alison McCormack, Jackson School of Geosciences
  • David Roger Miller, Cockrell School of Engineering
  • Sharon Mina Noh, College of Liberal Arts
  • Megan Christine O’Connell, College of Natural Sciences
  • Todd Olson, College of Natural Sciences
  • Matthew Brian Pomrenze, College of Natural Sciences
  • Rebecca Buonavita Posa, Cockrell School of Engineering
  • Bruno Rego, Cockrell School of Engineering
  • Nicolas Z. Reyes, College of Natural Sciences
  • Ann Kathryn Rockwell, Cockrell School of Engineering
  • Sarah Seraj, Cockrell School of Engineering
  • Jesse David Thomason, College of Natural Sciences
  • James Michael Wagner, Cockrell School of Engineering
  • Jonathan Taylor Webb, Cockrell School of Engineering


Undergraduate Students (Seniors)


  • Matthew Carlson, Cockrell School of Engineering
  • Chelsea Alexis Clark, Cockrell School of Engineering
  • Eric Thomas Dawson, College of Natural Sciences
  • Nikhil Garg, College of Liberal Arts and Cockrell School of Engineering
  • Sai Prashanth Gourisankar, Cockrell School of Engineering, College of Liberal Arts
  • Christina Allison Kent, College of Natural Sciences, College of Liberal Arts
  • Connor Jeffrey McClellan, Cockrell School of Engineering
  • Noor Momin, Cockrell School of Engineering