Skip Navigation
The University of Texas at Austin
Make a Gift to JSG
Update Your Info
Submit Alumni Notes

Geology Foundation Advisory Council

Foundation leadership offers counsel to enhance the success of the Jackson School.

The Geology Foundation is steered by an Advisory Council comprised of friends, alumni and corporate representatives. Council members are champions for the school and model philanthropic leadership for our community. This group meets twice per year to offer experienced business advice, provide feedback on student preparation for the “real world” and advise the Dean of the Jackson School on effective distribution of foundation assets.

Through its Hall of Distinction, the Jackson School of Geosciences honors individuals with a strong affiliation to the school who have made high-level accomplishments in academia, industry or government. We salute their efforts to positively impact society.


Mr. Bryan C. Wagner
President, Wagner Oil Company

Vice Chairman

Mr. Brian C. Reinsborough
President and CEO, Venari Resources

Honorary Life Members

Dr. Robert E. Boyer
Professor Emeritus
Mr. Alfred T. Carleton, Jr.
Mr. L. Decker Dawson
Chairman of the Board, Dawson Geophysical Company
Dr. Rodger E. Denison
Research Scienctist, University of Dallas, Department of Geosciences
Mr. Thomas E. Fanning
Dr. William L. Fisher
Professor, The University of Texas at Austin
Dr. Peter T. Flawn
President Emeritus, The University of Texas at Austin
Mr. William E. Gipson
President, Gas Fund, Inc.
Mr. Jack H. Mayfield
Chairman and Chief Executive Officer, Goldston Oil Corporation
Mr. James R. Moffett
Executive Chairman, Freeport-McMoRan Copper & Gold, Inc.
Mr. Fred L. Oliver
President, Petroleum Ventures of Texas, Inc.
Mr. James C. Patterson
Conoco/ R
Mr. Russell G. Slayback
Director & Chairman, Leggette, Brashears & Graham, Inc.
Mr. Charles G. Weiner
Chairman, Westerly Exploration, Inc.


Mr. Lawrence E. Archibald
Senior Vice President, Exploration & Business Development, ConocoPhillips
Dr. Ronald A. Bain
Senior Vice President, Exploration & Production, Index Oil & Gas
Ms. Annell R. Bay
SVP Global Exploration, Marathon Oil Company
Mr. C. Douglas Brown
President, BXP Ltd
Mr. Thomas M. Burke
Consultant, Independent/ A
Ms. Denise M. Butler
Regional Geoscience Discipline Lead, Upstream Americas, Shell Exploration and Production Company
Ms. Danielle L. Carpenter
Bay Marshland Team Leader, Chevron
Mr. Richard J. Chuchla
New Opportunity Manager/South America, ExxonMobil Company
Mr. Herve Coutrix
Total E&P Research and Technology USA, LLC
Mr. Edward A. Duncan
President and Chief Operating Office, Great Bear Petroleum LLC
James H. Dupree
Regional President, Gulf of Mexico, BP America, Inc
Mrs. Connie M. Dyer
Mr. James W. Farnsworth
President, Chief Exploration Officer, Cobalt International Energy, L.P.
Mrs. Julia A. Garvin
President, Roxanna Oil Co.
Mr. James A. Gibbs
Chairman, Five States Energy Company, L.L. C.
Mr. Gerald M. Gilbert
Senior Vice President, Geokinetics
Mr. Willard R. Green
Owner, Green Energy Resources
Mr. Jeremy Greene
Sr VP Exploration & Production, Peregrine Petroleum LLC
Ms. Robbie R. Gries
President, Priority Oil & Gas Co.
Dr. Paul R. Gucwa
Executive Vice President, Roxanna Oil Company
Mr. Erik G. Hanson
Owner, Abaco Operating, LLC
Mr. Bill D. Holland
President, Holland Exploration Inc.
Mr. Stephen Jumper
President and CEO, Dawson Geophysical Company
Mr. David L. Kirchner
President, Basin & Range Hydrogeologists, Inc.
Mr. James T. Langham
Partner and Co-Founder, Langham McKay & Company
Thomas B. Layman
Vice President Geoscience – Eastern Division, Chesapeake Energy
Dr. Susan A. Longacre
Chevron, Retired
William V. Maloney
Executive Vice President, Development and Production, North America, Statoil
Mr. David T. Martineau
President, Martineau Petroleum, Inc.
Mr. Forrest W. Pace, Jr.
VP, Exploration Technology and Geoscience, Talisman Energy
Dr. Donald L. Paul
Executive Director, USC Energy Institute and William M. Keck Chair of Energy Resources, University of Southern California
Mr. Wagner Peres
Retired President, HRT, America
Otaviano Pessoa Neto
General Manager of Exploration Brazilian Onshore Basins, Petrobras Corporation
Dr. Andrew I. Quarles
Exploration Director, Cuadrilla Resources Ltd.
Dr. David I. Rainey
President, Exploration, BHP Billiton Petroleum
Mr. Walter J. Scherr III
CEO, Valence Operating Company
Mr. Don B. Sheffield
President and CEO, Hahn and Clay
Mr. Daniel L. Smith
Executive Vice President/Owner, Sandalwood Oil & Gas, Inc.
Mr. Richard K. Stoneburner
John E. Watson
President and Chief Executive Office, NV Gold Corporation
Dr. Charles R. Williamson
Chairman of Board, Weyerhaeuser Co. & Talisman Energy

Members, Ex-Officio

Dr. Sharon Mosher
Director, Geology Foundation Dean, Jackson School of Geosciences, The University of Texas at Austin
Dr. Gregory L. Fenves
Executive Vice President & Provost, The University of Texas at Austin
Mr. William C Powers, Jr.
President, The University of Texas at Austin
Mrs. Belle German
Associate Director, Geology Foundation, The University of Texas at Austin


Read the Advisory Council By-Laws and Procedures (PDF)

Jackson School of Geosciences
IT Help  |  Profiles  |  Privacy Policy  |  Accessibility
© 2016 Jackson School of Geosciences, The University of Texas at Austin
2305 Speedway Stop C1160, Austin, TX 78712-1692
JSG YouTube ChannelJSG RSS News FeedJSG TwitterJSG FacebookMake a Gift to JSG