Horton Inaugural Recipient of SEPM Dickinson Medal

Brian Horton

The Society for Sedimentary Geology (SEPM) selected Jackson School of Geosciences Professor Brian Horton as the first recipient of the William R. Dickinson Medal. The award recognizes a midcareer research geoscientist who is significantly influencing the sedimentary geology community with innovative work.

“Contributions to major shifts in scientific thinking, via original and innovating data generation, tools and analyses, which help solve broad geological questions are hallmarks of a Dickinson Medal awardee,” according to the SEPM description of the award.

Horton is a professor in the Department of Geological Sciences, a research professor at the University of Texas Institute for Geophysics and is the Alexander Deussen Professor of Energy Resources. His research focuses on sedimentary basin development and mountain building. Recent work includes investigating the connection between geological processes, such as tectonic uplift, magmatism, erosion and sedimentation, and the biology and climate of the Amazon.

The award is named in honor of William R. Dickinson, a geoscientist known for broadening the applications for sedimentological analysis, including developing the Gazzi- Dickinson method for statistically measuring components in a sedimentary rock. Award recipients receive a medal featuring Dickinson’s likeness.