UT GeoFluids & GeoMechanics Students Take Top Awards

Kevin And Peter
Kevin Meazell and advisor Peter Flemings, with his award alongside those of fellow students, Abby Varona and Sebastian Ramiro-Ramirez. Photo: Alexey Portnov

Congratulations Abby Varona (MSc), Kevin Meazell (PhD), and Sebastian Ramiro-Ramirez (PhD) who took three of the top nine student research awards at the UT Jackson School of Geosciences Department of Geological Sciences 2022 Departmental Awards!

The annual awards recognize extraordinary efforts in the 2021-2022 academic year. The awards were presented by department chair Daniel Stockli, at an in person ceremony on May 3, 2022.

Varona, Meazell and Ramiro-Ramirez are all graduate research assistants at the University of Texas Institute for Geophysics and colleagues at the UT GeoMechanics and GeoFluids Research Group. Other UTIG student research winners included: Carson Miller (GSEC Student Service, honorable mention), Naoma McCall and Brandon Shuck (both runners-up, Best Graduate Student Paper).

For a full list of winners, visit: Announcing the 2022 Departmental Awards.

Here are the UTIG first place winners.

Abby Varona

Abby Varona

Best Masters Student Presentation Award

Masters Saturday: Paleogeographic Evolution of the Orange and Green Sands in WR 313, Deep-water Gulf of Mexico

First Place!

Kevin Meazell

Kevin Meazell

Best Graduate Student Paper Award

Earth and Planetary Science LettersThe evolution of seafloor venting from hydrate-sealed gas reservoirs

Best Paper!


Sebastian Ramiro-Ramirez
Best Graduate Student Presentation Awards

PhD Defense: Integrated Stratigraphic and Petrophysical Analysis of the Wolfcamp at Delaware Basin, West Texas, USA

Best Talk!

Congratulations to all the winners at the 2022 Departmental Awards!