People

We are expeditionary scientists, laboratory experimentalists, geotechnical engineers, computational geoscientists, students, and program managers.

Our Team

Peter Flemings

Peter Flemings

Professor, Department of Geological Sciences, Jackson School of Geosciences
Research Scientist, University of Texas Institute for Geophysics
Leonidas T. Barrow Centennial Chair in Mineral Resources

pflemings@jsg.utexas.edu

Learn more

Demian Saffer

Demian Saffer

Director, University of Texas Institute for Geophysics
Professor, Department of Geological Sciences, Jackson School of Geosciences
Scott Petty Jr. Endowed Chair for the University of Texas Institute for Geophysics

demian@ig.utexas.edu

Learn more

Athmabhandari 20120215

Athma Ram Bhandari

Research Engineer

athma.bhandari@utexas.edu

Learn more

Maria Nikolinakou

Maria Nikolinakou

Research Scientists

mariakat@mail.utexas.edu

Learn more

Alexey Portnov

Alexey Portnov

Research Associate

alexey.portnov@austin.utexas.edu

Learn more

Mahdi Heidari

Mahdi Heidari

Research Associate

mahdiheidari@utexas.edu

Learn more

Carla Thomas

Carla Thomas

Science/Technical Program Manager

carla.thomas@utexas.edu

Learn more

Portrait of Kehua You

Kehua You

Research Associate

kehua@ig.utexas.edu

Learn more


Postdoctoral Fellows

Alejandro Cardona

Alejandro Cardona

Postdoctoral Fellow

alejandro.cardona@utexas.edu

Learn more

Caroline Seyler

Caroline Seyler

Postdoctoral Fellow

caroline.seyler@utexas.edu

Learn more

Srisharan Shreedharan

Srisharan Shreedharan

UTIG Distinguished Postdoctoral Fellow

srisharan@utexas.edu

Learn more

Current Students

Nick Adelberg

Nick Adelberg

nadelberg1@utexas.edu

Interests: mountain formation

Graciela Lopez Campos

Graciela Lopez Campos

graciela.lc@utexas.edu

Interests: subduction megathrust modeling, large-strain evolution of subduction systems, discrete faults, porous fluid flow along faults.

Josh Edgington

Josh Edgington

jredgington1337@utexas.edu

Interests: hydrogeophysics, slow-slip earthquakes, hydrogeologic & hydrologic responses to earthquakes, machine learning & big data

No Photo 200x250

Nicole Ferrie

nicole.ferrie@utexas.edu

Interests:

Landon Diamondback Wolfcamp

Landon Lockhart

landon.lockhart@utexas.edu

Interests: petrophysics, geophysics, geology

More Info

Peter Miller

Peter Miller

pkmiller1@utexas.edu

Interests: subduction zones, earthquake mechanics, fluid flow, mechanical behavior of sediments, faulting

More Info

Zach Murphy

Zachary Murphy

zmurphy@utexas.edu

Interests: methane hydrates, carbon sequestration, fluid flow, permeability, petrophysics

More Info

Addison Savage

Addison Savage

addisonsavage@austin.utexas.edu

Interests: methanogenesis, carbon cycle, methane hydrates

Kaitlin Schaible

Kaitlin Schaible

kaitlin.schaible@utexas.edu

Interests: subduction zones, rock mechanics, boreholes, geophysics

Abby Varona

Abby Varona

gabrielle.varona@utexas.edu

Interests: sedimentology/stratigraphy, seismic/well log interpretation, methane hydrates

More Info