Most of the talks and workshop will take place at the University of Texas at Austin, Peter O’Donnell Building Room 2.402. We will also host a reception in the Holland Family Student Center in the Jackson School of Geosciences Building.

Link here to a map of the UT Austin campus.

Parking: The closest parking structure is the San Jacinto Parking Garage. No permit is required to park in the garages; just pull a ticket on your way in and process it at the exit, a paystation, or the garage office before you leave. Fees are calculated based on the amount of time you are in the garage. Garage daily parking offers the closest, most convenient spaces to all areas of the university for visitors.

Room information for presenters: The console within this room contains a standardized set of media sources consisting of an Internet-based DELL PC computer, a high-resolution visualizer, a Blu-ray-CD-DVD Player, along with the cabling for connecting the video and audio output of any laptop computer into the Audio Video (A/V) System. The A/V System consists of a dual rear digital video projection system with a stereo sound system. All of these components are integrated and operated by the user through a standardized “user-friendly” touch panel. This facility also includes two pan-tilt-zoom cameras and microphones that may be utilized with the building’s videoconferencing and webcasting (Mediasite and Adobe Connect) technologies for broadcasting live events or recording for event archival.

About the University of Texas at Austin:

  • Ranked among the biggest and best research universities in the US, UT Austin is home to more than 51,000 students and 3,000 teaching faculty
  • One of the top 20 public universities in the US according to U.S. News & World Report
  • UT Austin is the flagship school of the University of Texas System, which includes nine other academic universities and six health institutions statewide

About the Jackson School of Geosciences:

  • As a department was founded in 1888, was established at the college level in 2005
  • Has three major units with faculty housed in Department of Geological Sciences, but two other divisions (Bureau of Economic Geology, Institute for Geophysics) that focus primarily on research
  • Has 238 graduate students and 295 undergraduate students enrolled in the study of Geosciences
  • The school has 56 total faculty, 90 research scientists, 110 research staff and postdoctoral researchers and 140 support staff with a budget of $90 million USD