

Jackson School of Geosciences 10th Anniversary Celebration and Research Symposium

Student Activity Center Ballroom | January 22, 2016

9:00 Welcome

Sharon Mosher, Dean, Jackson School of Geosciences

9:05 Road Map for the Day

Scott Tinker, Director, Bureau of Economic Geology

9:15 Panel 1: "Geology"

Keynote: George Davis, GSA Past President, University of Arizona

Moderator: Richard Ketcham, Associate Dean for Academic Affairs, JSG; interim Chair and Professor, DGS Panel Members:

- · George Davis
- · Whitney Behr, Assistant Professor
- · David Mohrig, John E. "Brick" Elliott Centennial Endowed Professor in Geological Sciences
- · Shirley Dutton, Senior Research Scientist
- · Emily Cooperdock, Ph.D. Student

10:15 Break

10:30 Panel 2: "Geophysics"

Keynote: Mark Zoback (NAE), Stanford University

Moderator: Terry Quinn, Director, University of Texas Institute for Geophysics

Panel Members:

- · Mark Zoback
- · Laura Wallace, Research Scientist
- · Sergey Fomel, Wallace E. Pratt Professor in Geophysics
- · Don Blankenship, Senior Research Scientist
- · Liz Logan, Ph.D. Student

11:30 Box Lunch

Remarks: Greg Fenves (NAE), President, The University of Texas at Austin

1:00 Jack's Vision: "The Jackson Five"

Moderator: Larry Faulkner, President Emeritus, UT Austin Panel Members:

- · Peter Flawn (NAE), President Emeritus, UT Austin
- · Bill Fisher (NAE), Inaugural Dean, Professor, Leonidas T. Barrow Centennial Chair in Mineral Resources
- · James Langham, Jackson Financial Advisor and Executor of Estate
- · Scott Tinker, Director, BEG

1:30 Panel 3: "Energy, Mineral and Water Resources"

Keynote: Steve Koonin (NAS), New York University

Moderator: Scott Tinker, Director, BEG

Panel Members:

- · Steve Koonin
- · Charlie Kerans, Professor and Robert K. Goldhammer Chair in Carbonate Geology
- · Svetlana Ikonnikova, Research Associate
- · Bridget Scanlon, Senior Research Scientist
- · Ben Smith, Ph.D. Student

2:30 Panel 4: "Broad Areas of the Earth Sciences, Including the Environment"

Keynotes: Marilu Hastings, Cynthia and George Mitchell Foundation

Scott Anderson, Environmental Defense Fund

Moderator: Jay Banner, Director, ESI; Fred M. Bullard Professor in Geological Sciences Panel Members:

- · Scott Anderson
- · Marilu Hastings
- · Dan Breecker, Associate Professor
- · Mike Young, Senior Research Scientist
- · Ginny Catania, Associate Professor
- · Adam Bowerman, Ph.D. Student

3:30 Wrap Up and Final Thoughts

Chuck Williamson, Chairman of Weyerhaeuser; former CEO and Chairman UNOCAL; JSG AC Member Sharon Mosher. Dean

4:00 Anniversary Celebration Reception

5:00 Celebration Adjourns

7:00 Hot Science Cool Talks - 100th Presentation Celebration

"The Secret Lives of Dinosaurs"

Julia Clarke, John A. Wilson Professor in Vertebrate Paleontology Austin ISD Performing Arts Center, Mueller Development Event Sold Out

Webcast available: aisdtv.blogspot.com/p/celebrate-hot-science-cool-talks-100.html (Community Science Fair: 5:30-6:30)

