Researcher Profile

Jackson School of Geosciences

Peter T Flawn

Peter T Flawn
The Leonidas T. Barrow Chair Emeritus in Mineral Resource, Department of Geological Sciences, Jackson School of Geosciences

Work: +1 512 471 1825, +1 512 471 1232
Office: JGB 6.118, MAI 400

Peter T. Flawn has a long and distinguished history as a leader in the University of Texas system as well as in science and industry in general. He served as president of UT Austin twice and UT San Antonio once. He was named president emeritus by the UT Board of Regents in 1985. He served as professor of geological sciences and director of the Bureau of Economic Geology at UT Austin from 1960 to 1970. He became professor of geological sciences and public affairs in 1970 and Leonidas T. Barrow Professor of Mineral Resources in 1978. From 1970 to 1972, he served as vice president for academic affairs. He was elected to the National Academy of Engineering in 1974. He was president of the Geological Society of America in 1978 and president of the American Geological Institute in 1988. He was a member of the National Science Board from 1980 to 1986. The American Geological Institute awarded him their most prestigious honor, the Ian Campbell Medal, in 1993. He began his career as a junior geologist in the Mineral Deposits branch of the U.S. Geological Survey in 1948. He also conducted research at the Bureau of Economic Geology from 1949 to 1960. He received his B.A. from Oberlin College in 1947 and Ph.D. in geology from Yale University in 1951. He is a professor emeritus at UT Austin and an honorary life member of the Geology Foundation Advisory Council.

Areas of Expertise