The Department of Geological Sciences is the main academic unit of the Jackson School of Geosciences. Founded in 1888, the Department is one of the oldest, largest, and most prestigious geoscience programs in the world. U.S. News & World Report ranks the Department’s graduate program in the top ten nationally for earth sciences, the only program in Texas with this distinction. With over 50 faculty members, the Department is among the largest and most academically diverse in the world.

Research at the Department seeks to answer some of the fundamental questions in earth science and address some of the most pressing issues of the 21st century for the benefit of society. It spans across the Jackson School’s nine disciplines.

The Department is home to one of the largest combined graduate and undergraduate enrollments of any major geoscience program. We also have nearly 4,800 alumni.

Fieldwork is an integral part of the educational experience at the Department at all levels. Classes led as field camps are offered each summer to undergraduate students, while graduate and undergraduate students conduct research at hundreds of locations around the globe.

Students further benefit by working with Jackson School scientists at the school’s two world-renowned research institutes, the Bureau of Economic Geology and the Institute for Geophysics.