Stay up-to-date with JSG

Katherine Ellins Gets Neil Miner Award

Katherine Ellins

Katherine Ellins, the program director for geoscience education research at the Jackson School of Geosciences, is the 2017 recipient of the National Association of Geoscience Teachers Neil Miner Award.

Presented each year since 1953, the award honors an individual for exceptional contributions to the stimulation of interest in the earth sciences and is presented at the association luncheon at the national meeting of the Geological Society of America. Ellins is the third person from the Jackson School to receive this award. The other recipients are Professors Emeriti Bob Folk and Robert Boyer.

Ellins’ efforts to improve science learning and public engagement include curriculum development for earth science, professional development for teachers, multiinstitutional collaboration to promote diversity in geosciences at the K–12 and undergraduate levels. Her work has been supported by state agencies and federal grants, primarily the National Science Foundation, and carried out in collaboration with geoscientists and learning scientists.